Abdullah Gül University, AGU, international, student, from Malawi, Erasmus, exchange, in Poland, at UTP University of Science and Technology, Bydgozscz

Erasmus Exchange in Poland – The Story of Engineering Student McDonald

Hello everyone!

Life. Life is an interesting journey! It can take you to places you never thought you would see. In this blog, I would like to share with you a couple of things about my AGU student journey; my Erasmus experience!

Abdullah Gül University, international, student, Malawi, Erasmus, exchange, partnerships, Poland, UTP, Bydgoszcz

To begin with, my name is McDonald Chimzere. I am a Computer Engineering Undergraduate student at the Abdullah Gül University in Kayseri, Turkey and I have just come back from my Erasmus exchange study program at UTP University of Science and Technology, which is located in Bydgoszcz, Poland.

AGU, student, Erasmus, exchange, international, Poland, Computer Engineering, Bydgozscz, UTP University of Science and Technology
Map Showing Poland and the location of Bydgoszcz

After everything was set, I started off my journey. The trip from Turkey to Poland was quite perfect; I arrived in Bydgoszcz at around 2pm. When I came to the Dormitory reception, the secretary asked me for my name and after I had answered her, I was shown to my room (the Erasmus Team in UTP organizes good accommodation facilities and rooms). Once there, I found my roommate waiting for me: a guy from Spain, whom I later discovered to be the coolest roommate ever. We listened to same type of music, liked the same type of movies, loved the same dancing moves and, most important of all, he was a clean guy; hence our room was always clean!

Abdullah Gül University, student, international, Malawi, Computer Engineering, Erasmus Exchange, Poland, roommate
Me & My Cool Roommate

During the first week, the University organized a welcoming Orientation Week, which included various parties, filled with many presents and trips around the city.

Bydgoszcz… hmm, it was a very beautiful, small city and I loved it!

Well, I loved it because, even though it was small, this city had everything I needed, to have the best Erasmus life. When I say everything, I mean good shopping malls, a good university, good parks and also not to forget the good clubs and parties! 🙂

Abdullah Gül University, AGU, partnership, Erasmus, UTP University of Science and Technology, Poland, Bydgoszcz
Bydgoszcz, PL

During my Erasmus exchange I had classes 3 days/week, but during these 3 days of class it was serious business; we were given exercises and various projects to work on. I remember that my favorite experience in school was when one teacher explained how a drone worked. He explained this on a technical level using his own drone project, that I later had a chance to play with a little bit.

Abdullah Gül University, AGU, Computer, Engineering, international, student, Malawi, McDonald Chimzere, drone, project
Fascinated by Drone Project
AGU, international student, computer, engineering, web developing, project
Web developing project

Since I had free days from Thursday afternoon until Tuesday, this meant that I had a lot of free time for traveling around and also for having a good time as a student; and Yes, indeed I really did have a good time!

Abdullah Gül University, AGU, Erasmus, exchange, opportunities, Poland
Clubbing with fellow Erasmus Guys
AGU, international, student, Malawi, Erasmus, friends, Turkey
Turkish Friend’s birthday party In Dormitory
Abdullah Gül University, AGU, Poland, UTP University, Erasmus, opportunities
With New Friends, who later turned into “my Brothers” (Bydgoszcz City)
AGU, students, Turkey, international, Erasmus, friends
Random small party Meetings in rooms
AGU, Erasmus, exchange, Poland, Bydgoszcz, visits, travel
A visit to one of the historical graveyards in Bydgoszcz.
Abdullah Gül University, international, student, from Malawi, in Poland, Erasmus, Exchange
In Torun, PL
AGU, international, student, McDonald Chimzere, Poznan, Poland, Erasmus
In Poznan, old military base
Abdullah Gül University, Malawi, student, Erasmus, Poland, Torun
Torun city square
Abdullah Gül University, Erasmus, opportunities, friends, travel, fun, tourism
With Mate at the city center On New year’s Eve
Abdullah Gül University, AGU, friends, Turkey, Malawi, Poland, Erasmus, exchange
With My Friend From AGU and Our very Special Friend From Poland

 

Winter is coming. Winter in Poland was not as cold as I expected. The coldest point I can remember was one night around 2am. On this night, my friends had invited me to go out to party with them and, when we left the dormitory, I noticed it was crazy cold. When I checked the temperature on my phone, it showed that is was -21°C; and that was the coldest experience ever in my whole life! Well, even though it was cold, we still went to the party anyways 🙂

AGU, student, McDonald, Poland, snow, Fall semester, exchange
In the streets at around 2:30am
Abdullah Gül University, Erasmus, exchange, Poland, Computer Engineering
Next Morning at school
AGU, student, Erasmus, Poland, Bydgozscz, Winter, Festival
Attending Winter festival
Abdullah Gül University, Kayseri, Turkey, UTP University of Science and Technology, Bydgozscz, Poland, Poznan, international, partnerships
Poznan City Square

 

While in Poland I joined one of the famous English Speaking clubs in the city. Most people go there to learn English, but since English is my mother tongue, I mainly went there to meet new people and from this club met many special people.

UTP, Bydgoszcz, English speaking club, Erasmus exchange, Abdullah Gül University, Turkey, all programs 100% in English
Bydgoszcz English speaking club

 

Whenever most people think of Poland, the first thing that comes to their mind is the cold winter. Well, in Poland only the winter is cold; the people in Poland are very warm and I am a proud and happy man to say that I lived together with these warm Polish people.

Abdullah Gül University, AGU, erasmus exchange, Poland, Polish flag
Carrying the Polish flag, bought by one of my Polish friends.

Unfortunately, every journey must come to an end. I finished my courses at the end of January and the time had come for me to return to Turkey; but before I left, my high-school friend from Malawi visited me in Poland and I just had to show him how we do it in Poland 🙂

AGU, international, student, friends, Malawi, Poland, trip
Me and My friend from High School

Now I am back at the Abdullah Gül University and a lot has changed around here in the AGU Campus! For example: new buildings, new computer labs and most of all new opportunities! And now it’s time to explore these new opportunities. As they say: North or West, home is the best and it feels good to be back home!

Abdullah Gül University, AGU, international, Computer Engineering, study at AGU, students, apply to AGU
Current situation at AGU (Studying)

Lastly, I would love to thank the Erasmus office and International Office of both universities (AGU and UTP) for being there when I needed them the most. Most of all I would also like to thank my Computer Engineering teachers: Şükrü Hoca for creating this agreement between the two universities and Gülay Hoca for the academic guidance and for signing the documents (she had to sign the same document more than 10 times and did not complain once about this).

And all the love and thanks to my mom and dad; they always got me. Thank God Allah Almighty for Erasmus and also Thank God Allah Almighty for UTP and AGU.

Just in case you forgot; My Name Is McDonald Chimzere and I am a Computer Engineer to be 🙂

Thanks For Reading.

Please feel free to contact me here if you need more information about the Abdullah Gül University, UTP University of Science and Technology, Erasmus or my student experience.

Here’s my email: mcdonald.chimzere@agu.edu.tr

2 thoughts on “Erasmus Exchange in Poland – The Story of Engineering Student McDonald

Leave a Reply

